Recently we exhibited at the Sydney Home Show at Olympic Park in the Colour Your World precinct.  We took up this opportunity as we believe that colour plays such an important part in creating beautiful interiors, although so many are afraid to use colour, and wanted to show what an impact colour can have when used creatively.

We were given the hues of teal and yellow and decided to go with an indoor/outdoor beach theme (sea and sand…not hard!) creating two rooms divided by a central bar.  Not just a bar for serving drinks but also one for eating breakfast or lunch at on one side and on the other, a place for a TV for watching your favourite movie or latest mini-series.

Our scene was set with the fabulous photo supplied by our wonderful photographer, Marian Riabic.  The view of Bronte Beach was turned into wallpaper by Signature Prints, one of Australia’s leading textile and wallpaper producers.  Hung by Bernard onto a special substrate making the wallpaper removable, at the conclusion of the event, it was able to be carefully removed and reused in another project.

14890464_1664100417213247_8165837911529030708_o

Photo: Marian Riabic

All the products on our stand were chosen for their eco-friendliness including the sisal flooring, ceramic tiles, zero VOC paints, custom designed wallpaper, linen upholstery fabric, custom designed banquette sofa and bar, eco-friendly screens, stools, accessories and plants. Custom artwork was created by Catherine to complement the colours and ambience of the space. Lighting included pendants from recycled timber venetian blinds and recyclable aluminium and the accessories included resin and recycled glass.

In order to create our stand, we were supported by a wonderful team of suppliers, who share our vision for creating beautiful interiors using quality products that are ethically and sustainably produced, and we would like to thank all of them for their enthusiasm, patience and generosity in helping us create our Bronte Break.

At the conclusion of the Home Show, the majority of the products were returned to the suppliers, however, as we had custom designed the sofa and bar, we had a dilemma.  What do we do with these pieces if they are not sold at the show? Although we had a few offers, we decided that we would like to donate these pieces to a worthy cause and chose to give them to a women’s refuge in Sydney to hopefully, in some small way, bring a little sunshine into the lives of those living with the threat of domestic violence.

inner-west-courier-womens-refuge

Thanks to the Inner West Courier for picking up our story and highlighting White Ribbon Day  https://www.whiteribbon.org.au

We sincerely believe that good design has the opportunity to uplift the mind, body and spirit and that everyone has the right to experience
good design.

Our sincere thanks go out to the following suppliers without whom, none of this would have been possible.

Cult Design www.cultdesign.com.au
Zarella Kitchens zarella.kitchens@bigpond.com
Sofa Establishment www.sofaestablishment.com.au
Unique Fabrics www.uniquefabrics.com
Bandhini Homeware www.bandhini.com.au
Eco Core www.ecocore.com.au
International Floorcoverings www.interfloors.com.au
Design Tiles www.designtiles.com.au
Out Deco www.outdeco.com
Ecolour Paint www.ecolour.com.au
Signature Prints www.signatureprints.com.au
Ambius Indoor Plants www.ambiusindoorplants.com.au
Adrian Lawson Design www.adrianlawson.com.au
Kezu www.kezu.com.au
One World Collection www.oneworldcollection.com
Dinosaur Designs www.dinosaurdesigns.com.au
Amalfi Homewares www.amalfihomewares.com.au
Space Grill www.spacegrill.com
Modcraft www.modcraft.com.au

 

 

 

 

 

 

%d bloggers like this: